Farewell Sherran Howlett!

When I began at CGH (then known as Gippsland Base Hospital) in June 1995, I worked a 4.5 hour day, spreading that time between CCU, Cardiology, ED and Oncology. There was one computer and one photocopier for all Ward Clerks to use and they were located in the Human Resources Department. The Ward Clerks got to use it if someone else wasn’t, so often, there was quite a line up with the one HR administration member ringing when it was free! Back then, Oncology was just a small room off a corridor that no longer exists and CCU, Cardiology and ED looked vastly different to the way they do today. Over time, my role in Cardiology and CCU grew, my hours expanded and ED and Oncology gained their own Ward Clerks. Eventually, with further expansion, CCU became my sole area of work.

I was working in ED when patients began to arrive following the explosion at the Longford Gas Plant. Keen to help, I went to the doors in the ambulance bay to make sure they stayed open, put my thumb on the button and promptly got it jammed between the door and the frame. In huge amounts of pain and tears streaming down my face, I wasn’t game enough to say anything because there were a whole lot of people there in much more trouble than me, but I think they thought I was a bit upset by what I was seeing.

I was also working in CCU the first time ECMO was used outside of the Melbourne metropolitan area. Because of the amount and the size of the equipment ‘back in those days’ there was difficulty transporting the patient back to Melbourne with the equipment and there were attempts to deploy a RAAF plane for the task. I can’t remember if that actually eventuated or not, but I’m sure it wouldn’t happen now!

I guess my career highlights mostly revolve around the patients (sorry to the staff). It is so lovely to see our really sick patients recover and go home and it is always really nice to talk to and be able to help their families during their stay. I do remember one patient who came from somewhere east of Bairnsdale and I gather he was a rather influential fellow, but he was hell bent on this hospital being downgraded and the Bairnsdale hospital taking over. One of his mates was former Prime Minister, Malcolm Fraser, who rang every day to check the patient’s wellbeing. It’s also lovely when our fabulous nurses receive the recognition from patients and families that they so richly deserve. I’ll miss working with them but look forward to pursuing interests in walking, kayaking, mosaicking and lots of other things!

Jenny Dennett, Sherran Howlett and Courtney Redaelli.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment